In The Mix

As a SharePoint architect I have the business behind me and the Developers and IT Pro on my shoulders.

SharePoint 2010 Installation options November 25, 2009

Filed under: SharePoint 2010 — fmuntean @ 10:08 pm

Starting with the new release of SharePoint 2010 The Developer has more options on how to run it. And yes I said “The Developer” as SharePoint on Windows 7 will not be supported as a production platform.

  Physical Virtual
Windows 7 x64    
Windows 2008 R2 x64    

So now you will end up in one of this boxes. I will describe what each means for you based on my own experience in this post.

I have choose only Windows 7 and Windows 2008 R2 because of few things:

  • If you still have Vista then upgrade to Windows 7 now.
  • Windows 2008 R2 has a better Hyper-V.
  • Both have support for boot to VHD

Now let me describe my current setup:

I have a laptop with multi boot using Boot to VHD with the following operating systems:

  • Windows 7 with SharePoint 2010 for development
  • Windows 2008 R2 with Hyper-V; having following VMs inside:
  • Windows 7 and all the software necessary for office work (no Visual Studio or SharePoint here)
  • One or more Windows 2008 R2 with SharePoint for development and testing purposes.

This setup lets me have the full flexibility on what am I running and when. However it comes with a price. Windows 2008 does not have Hibernate or anything like this so every day I have to shut it down and power it up in the morning. Another issue that I am experiencing is that the wireless driver stops working from time to time and a reboot is needed to fix it.

Booting inside Windows 7 environment requires me to mix the SharePoint development with the office work and application thus making that more unstable at times. However the hibernate and suspend mode are working here.

Installing Windows 2008 and SharePoint on my laptop directly does not give me much benefit as again I will need to mix the office and development together.

Currently I am trying all the four possibilities for SharePoint 2010 and on a later post I will let you know which one I choose to go with.

One advantage of using Hyper-V is that I can choose how much memory to allocate to each of my VMs giving me an easy way to test for how much memory I really need when working with SharePoint.

Let me know which approach do you prefer yourself and why.

 

Leave a Reply

